Skip to main content
YMCA president and CEO Paula Anderson at the 2022 Annual Celebration

On Tuesday, April 18, 2023, the YMCA of Central Kentucky celebrated the work of its volunteers, staff, donors, and community partners at its Annual Celebration of Impact at LexArts in Lexington. The evening also kicked off the YMCA’s 170th anniversary of serving the Central Kentucky community. 

“Through this anniversary year, we will celebrate the ways that the Y has strengthened our community in the past, how we're serving in the present, and ways we look to a more equitable, welcoming, and impactful future together,” said Paula Anderson, president and CEO of the YMCA of Central Kentucky. “In November 1853, our YMCA was founded – and has been serving this community, creating safe spaces, serving as a refuge and a safe space ever since.”  

The YMCA chose LexArts to host this year’s annual celebration because it is part of the Y’s history. It was the YMCA at the turn of the 20th century. The building opened in 1904 and the gym was the site for when the first team of the Young Men’s Christian Association (first chartered YMCA of Central KY) and the State College team (UK) met in 1908.
The evening honored individuals and partners for their work in making an impact on the community in 2022. You can view photos from the evening here. The awards and recognitions given out were:

Community Impact Award

Central Bank
Red Triangle Award

David and Marci Kloiber 
Volunteer of the Year 
1.    Nina Thomas, Black Achievers program
2.    Vange Lear, C.M. Gatton Beaumont YMCA
3.    David Mahoney, Frankfort YMCA
4.    Keri Lee, High Street YMCA
5.    Don and Sandy Hoffman, North Lexington Family YMCA
6.    Frederick Douglass Boys and Girls Soccer Teams, Whitaker Family YMCA

YMCA Black Achievers 2023 Graduating Seniors
1.    Christian Blackwell, Paris High School  
2.    Porter Brown, Carter G. Woodson Academy 
3.    Nathan Hocker, Bryan Station High School 
4.    Latrice Jones, STEAM Academy 
5.    Trayvon Mason, STEAM Academy 
6.    Damirien McCann-Fisher, Bryan Station High School 
7.    Terique Murphy-Adams, Henry Clay High School 
8.    Mikiah Oney-Adams, Lafayette High School 
9.    Alexis Smith, Henry Clay High School  
10. Aisha Smith, Henry Clay High School  
11. Kiari Stewart, Frederick Douglass High School  
Rob Taylor Spirit Award (YMCA Part-Time Employee)
George Seidelman, C.M. Gatton Beaumont YMCA
Impact Award (YMCA Full-Time Employee)
Kevin Haury, YMCA of Central Kentucky Senior Director of Program Operations 

YMCA president and CEO Paula Anderson at the 2022 Annual Celebration

Previous story